InterPlanetary Networking Special Interest Group (IPNSIG) Rotating Header Image

Our Board

Chairperson: Vint Cerf

Vinton G. Cerf is vice president and chief Internet evangelist for Google. Cerf has held positions at MCI, the Corporation for National Research Initiatives, Stanford University, UCLA and IBM. Vint Cerf served as chairman of the board of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) and was founding president of the Internet Society. He was appointed to the US National Science Board in 2013.

Widely known as one of the “Fathers of the Internet,” he received the U.S. National Medal of Technology in 1997, the Marconi Fellowship in 1998 and the ACM Alan M. Turing award in 2004. In November 2005, he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, in April 2008 the Japan Prize and in March 2013, the Queen Elizabeth II Prize for Engineering.

He is a Fellow of the IEEE, ACM, and AAAS, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the Computer History Museum and the National Academy of Engineering.

Cerf holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics from Stanford University and Master of Science and Ph.D. degrees in Computer Science from UCLA and holds 21 honorary degrees from universities around the world.

Board Member: Dr. Paul Brooks

BSc (Hons) in Physics and Computer Science (University of Adelaide), Ph.D. in Astrophysics (University of New South Wales)
Paul leads Layer10 Advisory, an independent consultancy practice specializing in telecommunications network architecture, broadband access and service provider network operations. Paul has extensive knowledge of communications protocols, leading equipment suppliers, carriers and service providers, and the Australian regulatory environment, which has been formed through consulting projects and executive positions in carriers large and small.

Paul has served in senior positions for a number of carriers and start-up service providers, including Global One, Flowcom/Macrocom, eCOM and Vocus. As a consultant he has provided expert technical advice to regulators including ACCC and NZ Commerce Commission. Paul an active participant within the Australian ISP community and a co-founder of Vocus Communications, ATUG and Communications Alliance. Paul is a founder and Board Member of the Australian Chapter of the Internet Society.

Board Member: Scott Burleigh

Scott Burleigh has been a software engineer at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, since 1986.

Mr. Burleigh co-authored the specification for the CCSDS (Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems) File Delivery Protocol (CFDP), an international standard for file transfer over interplanetary distances.  Mr. Burleigh developed the first implementation of CFDP, which was adapted for operational use on a number of flight missions, including JPL’s Deep Impact comet exploration mission.

Mr. Burleigh co-authored the DTN Architecture definition (Internet RFC 4838).  He is also a co-author of the specification for the DTN Bundle Protocol (BP, Internet RFC 5050).  In addition, he is a co-author of the specifications for the Licklider Transmission Protocol (LTP, Internet RFCs 5325 through 5327) supporting data block transmission reliability at the data link layer.

Mr. Burleigh leads the development and maintenance of implementations of BP and LTP software, with the long-term goal of enabling deployment of a delay-tolerant Solar System Internet.  The ION version of DTN software is now in continuous operation on the International Space Station and is being used for operational studies on-board the EO-1 Earth-orbiting spacecraft.

Mr. Burleigh has received the NASA Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal and four NASA Space Act Board Awards for his work on the design and implementation of these communication protocols.

Vice Chair: Konstantin Kalaitzidis

Konstantin has expertise in the areas of Aerospace engineering, Internet engineering, enterprise architecture and technical program management. He has led strategic, enterprise-level, technology and infrastructure programs, built integrated architecture frameworks, and worked on research, design, analysis, and test projects.

Konstantin has worked in the defense industry, operated his own ISP and put in a long stint in at Cisco Systems in a variety of IT leadership roles. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Boston University, in Aerospace Engineering.  Konstantin is also a board member of the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter of the Internet Society.

Board Member: Keith Scott

Some assembly required…

Secretary/Treasurer: Mike Snell

Mike Snell spent 12 years in various IT management and leadership positions at Cisco Systems. Before changing to an IT career, Mike worked for Compaq, Tandem Computers and Digital Equipment Corporation in various facilities and corporate real estate management responsibilities. He also ran his own facilities management consulting firm. Mike is President of the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter of the Internet Society. He has degrees in Theater Arts and Public Speaking, and freely admits to being yet another Liberal Arts major gone bad…



Board Member: Jay Wyatt

Some assembly required…

  • Categories

  • Tweets by @IPNSIG